Can't say I am surprised. I haven't seen much of any pre pub hype about this book. I remember seeing posts at AAR RtR board for weeks in advance of a SB book release. I have also heard rumblings that her core fan base is really unhappy with her constant preaching during the last book (and maybe some of this book) about gay rights. There's nothing wrong with hot man on man love. It's the preaching that is driving people nutso.
I'm not put off by preachiness or the man on man love, but the dissatisfying endings to two of the longer story arcs have made me wary of paying hardback price.
I still want to read it, too, but I'll probably wait for the paperback.
It's weird, because I used to be a huge fan of SB... whenever she had a book out, I'd get it new, as soon it came out, and I anxiously read the countdowns on her website, all that kind of fangirl behaviour.
Since Gone Too Far, that's no longer the case, even though I actually loved GTF. For some reason, Flashpoint and Hot Target spent a long, long time in the TBR before I started them. liked them very much, too (HT was even among my top 10 reads last year), but even so, I still haven't read the Max & Gina book. Maybe it's just that I was never that interested in those two, and after all the stupid comings and goings in GTF, they just tired me.
I was a slave to Max and Gina and their book was such a huge disappointment that I have yet to re-read it. I've decided to wait for her to get ahead of me with a few books. That way, if I want to read the next book it'll already be on the shelf. Right now, it's self preservation because I'm not sure I want to be dragged through every thing over years to have a horrible conclusion. So, I'll wait. For now. Cause I know what will happen if someone comes in and says they loved it. I'll probably crack but right now, I'm holding steady if not firm ;)
no subject
Date: 2006-08-09 06:38 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-08-09 06:38 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-08-09 07:57 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2006-08-10 06:32 pm (UTC)It's weird, because I used to be a huge fan of SB... whenever she had a book out, I'd get it new, as soon it came out, and I anxiously read the countdowns on her website, all that kind of fangirl behaviour.
Since Gone Too Far, that's no longer the case, even though I actually loved GTF. For some reason, Flashpoint and Hot Target spent a long, long time in the TBR before I started them. liked them very much, too (HT was even among my top 10 reads last year), but even so, I still haven't read the Max & Gina book. Maybe it's just that I was never that interested in those two, and after all the stupid comings and goings in GTF, they just tired me.
no subject
Date: 2006-08-11 08:31 am (UTC)CindyS