SBD?

Jul. 3rd, 2006 09:23 pm
jmc_bks: (title)
[personal profile] jmc_bks
Ack! I had an SBD thought (not so much a rant) all typed out and it disappeared. So here it is again, to the extent that I'm able to recreate it.

So, the Hollywood movie establishment and the romance publishing industry need to talk. 'Cause they both seem to be doing things that maybe the other ought to think about.

The romance industry? Totally gets the dark, brooding alpha hero. I watched Tristan and Isolde. All the way through, all I could think was "Kick that kid to the curb! Rufus Sewell? If I were Isolde, I would do him everyday of the week and twice on Sundays." The coveted 15-25 age bracket that Hollywood markets to may get off on boyish beauty, but the consensus of my circle of friends (who are older than 20 and have more disposable income than your average 20 year old): skip the boy sex and move to the man. The romance industry clearly gets this, otherwise tortured, honorable, dark heroes would not be all over Romancelandia.

The Hollywood movie industry? Seems to be getting the idea that the perfect HEA isn't absolutely necessary. Tristan and Isolde had what I would call a satisfactory ending -- not so "happy" but sort of appropriate given the myth. Same with Gladiator -- appropriate but not a HEA. The romance novel industry should get a clue. I know, the HEA is the mandatory for the romance genre and it's subversive to say that I'd rather not read one, but really, sometimes a couple moving toward something is better than a forced HEA with a stereotypical epilogue that includes 2.3 children and life in suburbia.

And that's that. I'm off to watch Deputy Chief Brenda on The Closer.

Date: 2006-07-04 02:25 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] riley-merrick.livejournal.com
I had a similar reaction just to the trailer. I know the story of Tristan and Isolde, of course, and I know King Mark is supposed to be this bad guy and all, but c'mon, it's Rufus Sewell!!!! (*drool*)

King Mark

Date: 2006-07-04 02:35 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jmc-bks.livejournal.com
In the movie, Lord/King Mark isn't a bad guy. He's honorable and kind and he trusts Tristan and loves Isolde. Plus, it's Rufus Sewell *sigh*

I liked the beginning of the movie and the end, but the romance of it was not so much to my taste. Plus, David O'Hara was in it -- playing the bad guy, but still.

Date: 2006-07-09 03:49 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bardsong.livejournal.com
I'm totally with you about the HEA. A lot of times I simply don't buy it when I'm reading certain romances. Like, they've spent 200 pages going from "I hate you" to "let's have sex", so what makes anyone think the characters have all their issues resolved enough to have 2.5 kids? I do like a convincing HEA, but I'm with you. I'd much rather see evidence that characters are moving towards it, and that things will be all right, then something rushed and tacked-on.

Profile

jmc_bks: (Default)
jmc_bks

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    123
456789 10
11 12131415 1617
18 192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 12:31 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios