jmc_bks: (blue barbapapa)
[personal profile] jmc_bks
I have a bunch to say about this movie, but the first thing is -- go see it NOW! In fact, after leaving the theater, I called my sister to tell her the same thing. I think I'm going to post a separate entry later re: terrorism, but I have stuff to say about the movie itself first.

Hugo Weaving -- first, a disclaimer: he could read the phone book and I would happily sit for hours and listen. Didn't care so much for Elrond, King of the Elves, but his Agent Smith in The Matrix made that movie for me. One of my favorite movie lines ever is, "Hello, Mr. Anderson." His performance as V was amazing to me, because it relied entirely on his voice and to a lesser extent on his body language, which was powerful but very controlled. The complete lack of facial expression because of the mask would have stilted most performances, but somehow didn't here. His monologue to Evey hooked me, reeled me in to the movie completely.

Stephen Rea -- he was very much a key to the movie. An arm (the Nose, really) of the fascist government, he was the only governmental character who seemed to care about the crimes being committed while being uninterested in promoting government propaganda. It made me wonder about the untold backstory of this character. Performance-wise, Chief Inspector Finch was reminiscent of Rea's Inspector Burakov from Citizen X.

Natalie Portman -- fairly good, but not as good as her debut in The Professional. Still, she would have to have been stellar in order to outshine John Hurt, Rea, and the creepy Creedy. The British accent that disappeared and reappeared was irritating, but not a calamity.

John Hurt, Stephen Fry, Tim Pigott-Smith -- excellent, excellent performances.

I found the Voice of London explaining that the USA's situation was Judgment/Punishment as a a result of godlessness to be quite ironic, given how the Christian Coalition and Conservative Right keep trying to foist religion into government roles.

The music, the cinematography were very well done. And the scene at the end with all of the Vs flowing toward Parliament gave me chills.

Went to the library immediately after the movie in search of a copy of the graphic novel -- none to be had. Instead had to settle for a copy of the "novelization" -- the novel based on the screen play. Going to the bookstore this afternoon for a copy of the graphic novel, I think.

Oddity -- among the previews were Scary Movie 4, X-Men: The Last Stand, and Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest. Were they chosen because they were comedic? because V for Vendetta was based on a graphic novel? The match up seemed strange to me, particularly SM4. X-Men I can explain as comic book-based film; I see comic books as slightly different from graphic novels, but maybe that's a judgment call. And Pirates, well, it is an adventure movie. But I'm not really sure I would have included any of the previews if I was the distributor. ::shrugs:: But what do I know?

Date: 2006-03-19 04:54 pm (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
Roger Ebert on V's mask (I'm paraphrasing): "It was a mistake. People's lips should move, even if they're wearing a mask. This was the same problem I had with Thomas the Tank Engine."

I kid you not.

Doug

Date: 2006-03-19 06:45 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jmc-bks.livejournal.com
Uh, okay, Mr. Ebert, because V and Thomas the Tank Engine are really such comparable characters. ::eye roll:: I saw the mask as symbolic of the repression of the entire Sutler regime, and of the government itself. The very fact that V needed to wear it was a result of the damage done by the government to an "undesireable" citizen. [Was he gay? Muslim? agnostic? I'd love to know what his original "offense" was.] The whole point of the mask as symbol was that he spoke around it, despite what had been done to him, really because of what had been done to him.

Date: 2006-03-19 06:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jperceval.livejournal.com
I love Hugo Weaving too. And if you haven't seen him in The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, you must! :-)

Date: 2006-03-20 01:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jmc-bks.livejournal.com
Haven't seen it, but it is now added to the netflix queue. Thanks for the recommendation.

Date: 2006-03-20 02:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jperceval.livejournal.com
It's the movie To Wong Foo... was based on, but Hugo, Terrence Stamp (hee!), and Guy Pearce make much better drag queens. Plus it's got the fantastic line, "Just what we need: a cock in a frock on a rock."

Profile

jmc_bks: (Default)
jmc_bks

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    123
456789 10
11 12131415 1617
18 192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 11:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios