Celebrating in advance
Jan. 13th, 2007 02:15 pmMy neighborhood is overrun by lunatics wearing purple cammies and Ravens jerseys. Which I wouldn't mind except for the parking -- leave your SUV's elsewhere, please, my neighborhood's narrow streets were established back before automotives were commonplace and your Excursions and Excalibers block the way. Plus, you don't know how to parallel park or apparently read street signs. The city isn't kidding about ticketing if you park in a no parking zone or towing if you park in a permit-only spot.
At the diner this morning, the game was all the talk, especially about how the Colts had police protection and management wasn't releasing where the team stayed overnight. I thought that was normal, though. :shrug: I know the history of the Colts, the whole sneaking out of Baltimore via Mayflower moving trucks after swearing not to go. [Sound familiar, Nick Saban?] But it was 23 years ago! None of the players today were playing then. Certainly the management has changedand I'm pretty sure the ownership has, too.
I went for a walk, up to Federal Hill proper to drop off my dry cleaning, and encountered more hoards of fans. Including several women wearing Dr. Seuss-style hats of lavender fur/fuzz. Interesting fashion choice. Bold. Umm, kickoff is at 4pm, but I think some people have been at Nick's since it opened this morning. Gonna be some amazing hang overs.
And the weather? Still amazing for this time of year. I was actually a little too warm in my sweater and tank top. All of the bulbs in the pots and curbside gards are starting to sprout. Talk about confusing weather patterns. But I think fans were hoping for much worse weather, since the Colts play in a dome and are used to playing without taking weather into consideration.
***
So if all those fans are celebrating the game, what am I celebrating? [Not that I don't like the Ravens, I'm just more a Packer fan.] I'm celebrating that I found a copy of Forever in Blue at the library this morning, along with a mystery set in Africa post-WW1 that looks interesting. I'm off to read.
At the diner this morning, the game was all the talk, especially about how the Colts had police protection and management wasn't releasing where the team stayed overnight. I thought that was normal, though. :shrug: I know the history of the Colts, the whole sneaking out of Baltimore via Mayflower moving trucks after swearing not to go. [Sound familiar, Nick Saban?] But it was 23 years ago! None of the players today were playing then. Certainly the management has changed
I went for a walk, up to Federal Hill proper to drop off my dry cleaning, and encountered more hoards of fans. Including several women wearing Dr. Seuss-style hats of lavender fur/fuzz. Interesting fashion choice. Bold. Umm, kickoff is at 4pm, but I think some people have been at Nick's since it opened this morning. Gonna be some amazing hang overs.
And the weather? Still amazing for this time of year. I was actually a little too warm in my sweater and tank top. All of the bulbs in the pots and curbside gards are starting to sprout. Talk about confusing weather patterns. But I think fans were hoping for much worse weather, since the Colts play in a dome and are used to playing without taking weather into consideration.
***
So if all those fans are celebrating the game, what am I celebrating? [Not that I don't like the Ravens, I'm just more a Packer fan.] I'm celebrating that I found a copy of Forever in Blue at the library this morning, along with a mystery set in Africa post-WW1 that looks interesting. I'm off to read.
no subject
Date: 2007-01-14 03:31 am (UTC)Sorry. Still, you can be happy that you have a way better team name in Balmur
kate r
no subject
Date: 2007-01-14 03:12 pm (UTC)