jmc_bks: (blue)
[personal profile] jmc_bks
Okay, the evening didn't start well. It took longer to get into DC on a Saturday afternoon than it normally does during the morning rush. What was up with that? Then, no Chop House. No reservations (Why not? I don't know.) meant a 45 minute wait. No thanks. Jaleo, La Tasca, LSF, all the same. Even Pot Belly's was wall-to-wall people. So we walked a block over to Chinatown (such as it is, now that it has mostly relocated). Good, but not what I was in the mood for.

But the game, wow, the game. Sitting at center ice gives a totally different perspective. I suppose I'd enjoy hockey more if those were my seats habitually, but they are pretty spendy (IMO). Oddly, it is warmer down there, closer to the ice, than up higher. Can anyone explain the science behind that? 'Cause I don't think it's that there are more heating vents. Behind us sat a very loud, very enthusiastic fan, who managed to be not obnoxious in spite of his volume. I think he was disappointed that we weren't vocal. We clapped and cheered and sang the hockey song, but neither of us is a screamer. Lots of Buffalo fans at the game, including the kid sitting next to me who was on his cell phone the Whole Freakin' Game. (Why bother?)

First period: three quick goals and their goalie was yanked. Then they got one and the Caps followed with a 4th fluke goal. Mites played during the 1st intermission, including a little girl on one team who scored the only goal. Second period: a little slower (their back-up goal had a better night than the starter). Going okay until Alex Ovechkin boarded someone (which I missed) and there was some pushing and shoving over by the benches and a fist fight behind the goal. Ovechkin and a Sabre were ejected and given misconducts (and the coach fined?), plus 4 & 5 minute penalties. During the power play, two goals were scored by the Sabres, but one was over-ruled on review. Another goal by the Caps, so the score was 5-3 at the end of the period. Third period: lots more penalties, a couple more goals. In the last few minutes, the score was 6-4, so the Sabres pulled their goalie...only to give up an undefended goal from the other end of the court. Ouch.

It was exciting. And fun. So I take back my grumbling about wasting a Saturday night watching hockey.

Date: 2006-12-04 05:47 am (UTC)
From: (Anonymous)
The first time I ever went to a hockey game I was shocked at the silence! I was so used to listening to the commentators and had no idea that all the fans in the stands heard were the skates, players and refs. It was eerie at the time. I also found that out at the ball game too. Course we were at the Roger's Center in Toronto (once called the Dome) and we were in serious nose bleed territory. There's really not a lot to do except flag down the vendors when you are sitting waiting for the next inning ;) Glad you had a good time!

Also, I like your template change - vera pretty!

CindyS

Date: 2006-12-04 10:52 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] jmc-bks.livejournal.com
The nosebleed section is where I've been seated in the other two games I attended :) No vendors make there way up there -- have to go get your hotdog yourself. Although, now that I think about it, I don't think that there are roaming vendors at the Verizon Center.

Thanks re: the template.

Profile

jmc_bks: (Default)
jmc_bks

December 2011

S M T W T F S
    123
456789 10
11 12131415 1617
18 192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 09:02 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios